Local Order of the Arrow History

Lodge Chiefs

Since the founding of Allogagan Lodge in 1936, many young men have held the position of Lodge Chief of one of the local lodges. You can see the list of chiefs by clicking the link below. Please note that there is much work to be done to reconstruct the list of chiefs in Pe Nain Sew Ne Tami, Metacomet and the earliest days of Memsochet lodges. If you have any information, please send it to John Willemain.

List of Lodge Chiefs

Vigil Honor Recipients

The Vigil Honor is the highest honor the Order of the Arrow can present to its members for service to the Lodge and Council. It is a mark of distinction and recognition reserved for those Arrowmen who have given exceptional service, helping others beyond the call of duty involving personal effort and unselfish interest to their lodge, the Order of the Arrow, Scouting or their Scout Camp.

The following table contains links to pages that list the recipients of the Vigil Honor. Most of these people received the honor as a member of one of our local lodges (Allogagan, Apinakwi Pita, Memsochet, Metacomet, Penain Sew Ne Tami) but may have received it elsewhere and then moved to our area.

1946-1959 1960-1969 1970-1979 1980-1989
1990-1999 2000-2009 2010-2019  

Founder's Award Recipients

The Founder's Award was created by the Order of the Arrow in 1981 to honor and recognize Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to their Lodge beyond the immediate responsibilties of their position within the Lodge. The award is reserved for those Arrowmen who demonstrate to their fellow Arrowmen that they memorialize the spirit of achievement in their everyday life as personified by founder E. Urner Goodman and co-founder Carroll A. Edson.

The following table contains links to pages that list the recipients of the Founder's Award.

1986-1999 2000-2009 2010-2019  

Centurion Award

For nearly 100 years, the Order of the Arrow has recognized Scouts and Scouters who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives. The OA's centennial provides a unique opportunity to commemorate those among us who are examplars of the "high ideals and purpose of the Order of the Arrow". The Centurion Award is a one-time recognition associated with the centennial anniversary of the OA that is bestowed by the national Order of the Arrow committee. This recogntion is an opporutnity to highlight lodge development over the last century and the many individuals, both youth and adult, who were instrumental to this success. These honorees will serve as exemplars of leadership, modeling to others a commitment to cheerful service as the Order of the Arrow enters its second century.

The following link will take you to a page that identifies the Centurion Award recipients which were awared on April, 26, 2015.

Centurion Award Recipients

Please send any corrections to John Willemain.